top of page

Course overview

What is provenance research?

Provenance research has become one of the main disciplines in museum work. It refers to investigations designed to retrace the history of an object, whatever its nature, from its creation or discovery. More specifically, it aims to establish changes in ownership and to ensure that the object has not been wrongfully seized from its rightful owner.

 

To a greater extent, it is designed by the Swiss Association for Provenance Research "as a critical approach to the historical context in which works of art, various artefacts and entire collections were acquired. This includes an analysis of Swiss cultural policy, acquisitions in public and private collections as well as transnational interdependencies of the transfer of cultural heritage, in particular in the context of injustices linked to colonization or the National Socialist regime".

Objectives

The CAS in "Provenance Research" is designed to train museum professionals and, more broadly, individuals working in the cultural sector to meet the new thematic and methodological challenges, providing them with practical and theoretical knowledge and a global vision of themes related to colonial contexts and property looted during the National Socialist period.

Target audience

Professionals from the museum, cultural and heritage fields (historians, art historians, anthropologists, ethnologists, archivists, librarians, etc.); provenance researchers; art galleries; foundations; associations; auction houses specialists; professionals from the legal, customs and police fields; etc.

Structure

The CAS in "Provenance research" consists of two modules and concludes with a final written assignment.

 

Each module can be taken independently, i.e. it is not obligatory to complete the course 'in order' (Module I followed by Module II): direct access via Module II is entirely possible. It is therefore necessary to register for each of the two modules. 

Each module combines a methodological/theoretical angle and a thematic/applied angle. Module I covers provenance research methodology and issues relating to objects acquired in colonial contexts. Module II presents the basics of provenance research and explores the discussion of looted property during the period of National Socialism.

Obtaining the CAS

In order to obtain the title of Certificate of Advanced Studies in "Provenance Research" (13 ECTS) from the University of Neuchâtel, Module I and Module II must be passed, followed by the final written assignment. Regular attendance at both modules is required.

Module evaluation

Modules I and II each end with a written exam granting an attestation of 4 ECTS. 

NB: It is also possible to attend the continuing education courses without taking part in the examinations, i.e. without validating the ECTS. In this case, a certificate of attendance will be issued to the participant, but he/she will not be able to claim the title of CAS in "Provenance Research".

Final dissertation

The CAS concludes with a final written paper of approximately 10-25 pages (excluding appendices and bibliography), which the candidate completes under the supervision of Dr. Claire Brizon, Dr. Carolin Lange or Dr. Thomas Schmutz within three months after completing the second module.

She/he then defends it in an oral defence, during which the experts give their feedback.

The candidate then has a further month to incorporate any corrections into his/her work before final submission.


Successful completion of the written work awards 5 ECTS.

Title issued

Certificate of Advanced Studies in Provenance Research from the University of Neuchâtel

Registration fee

CHF 6080.-*

*CHF 2'800.- per module + CHF 480.- for the supervision and the defence of the dissertation
 

Payable upon receipt of confirmation of the course.

Payment in several instalments possible.

Next session

Module II – Property looted during the National Socialist era

REGISTRATIONS OPEN

Module price

CHF 2800.-

[PDF] Download the flyer

[PDF] Download the detailed programm

[PDF] Download the registration form

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Information

Caroline Ferrazzo, M.A.

Research associate

caroline.ferrazzo@unine.ch

+ 41 79 387 30 40

Dates 2024

Module I

January 26, 27 // February 2, 3, 23, 24 // March 1, 2

Module II

August 30, 31 // September 6, 7, 20, 21, 27, 28

Course management

Dr. Claire Brizon, Dr. Carolin Lange, Dr. Thomas Schmutz

Place

University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Teaching languages

French and English

Hybrid format

On site at the University of Neuchâtel & simultaneously by videoconference

Registration fee

CHF 6080.-*

(*Module I + Module II + supervision 

and defense of the final dissertation)

bottom of page

top of page

Présentation de la formation

Qu'est-ce que la recherche de provenance?

Cœur de l’actualité, la recherche de provenance est l’une des principales disciplines du travail muséal et concerne en principe tous les types et toutes les tailles de musées. Elle désigne les investigations dont l’objectif est de retracer l’historique d’un bien, quelle que soit sa nature, depuis sa création ou sa découverte. Plus particulièrement, elle vise à établir les changements de propriété et à s’assurer que l’objet n’a pas été confisqué sous la contrainte à son propriétaire légitime.

Pour l'Association suisse de recherche de provenance, "la recherche des provenances se conçoit comme une approche critique du contexte historique dans lequel furent acquis des oeuvres d’art, des artefacts divers et des collections entières. Cela comprend une analyse de la politique culturelle suisse, des acquisitions dans les collections publiques et privées ainsi que des interdépendances transnationales du transfert du patrimoine culturel, en particulier dans le contexte d’injustices liées à la colonisation ou au régime national-socialiste".

Objectifs

Le Certificate of Advanced Studies (CAS) en "Recherche de provenance" a pour ambition de former les professionnel-e-s de musées, de la culture ainsi que de tout domaine connexe à répondre aux nouveaux défis lancés à leurs domaines d’activités et de leur apporter des connaissances pratiques et théoriques tout en ayant une vision globale des thématiques liées aux contextes coloniaux et aux biens spoliés durant la période national-socialiste.

Publics-cibles

Professionnel-le-s des domaines muséal, culturel et du patrimoine (historien-ne-s, historien-e-s de l'art, anthropologues, ethnologues, archivistes, bibliothécaires, etc. ); responsables de collections; chercheurs-euses en provenance; galeries d'art; fondations; associations; maisons de vente aux enchères; professionnel-le-s des domaines du droit, des douanes, de la police; etc.

Structure

Le CAS en "Recherche de provenance" est composé de deux modules et se termine par un travail écrit final. 

 

Chaque module peut être réalisé de manière indépendante, c'est-à-dire qu'il n'est pas obligatoire de suivre la formation "dans l'ordre" (module I puis module II): un accès direct via le module II est tout à fait possible. De ce fait, il est nécessaire de s'inscrire à chacun des deux modules. 

Chaque module associe un angle méthodologique/théorique et un angle thématique/appliqué. Le module I traite de la méthodologie de la recherche de provenance ainsi que des problématiques relatives aux objets acquis en contextes coloniaux. Le module II quant à lui présente les bases de la recherche de provenance et thématise les discussions au sujet des biens spoliés à l’époque du national-socialisme.

Obtention du CAS

Pour obtenir le titre de Certificate of Advanced Studies en Recherche de provenance (13 ECTS) de l’Université de Neuchâtel, il est nécessaire de valider le module I, le module II, puis de réussir le travail écrit final. Une présence régulière à chacun des deux modules est en outre nécessaire pour l'obtenir.

Évaluation des modules

Les modules I et II se terminent chacun par un examen écrit octroyant une attestation de 4 ECTS. 

NB: Il est également possible de suivre les enseignements de la formation continue sans prendre part aux examens, soit sans valider les ECTS. Dans ce cas, une attestation de participation est fournie à la/au participant-e, mais cette dernière/ce dernier ne pourra pas prétendre au titre de CAS en Recherche de provenance.

Travail écrit final

Le CAS se conclut par un travail écrit final d'environ 25 pages (sans les annexes et la bibliographie), que la/le candidat-e rédige sous la direction du Dr. Claire Brizon, du Dr. Carolin Lange ou du Dr. Thomas Schmutz dans les trois mois à compter de la fin du second module suivi.

 

Elle/il le défend ensuite lors d'une soutenance orale, durant laquelle les expert-e-s donnent leurs retours.

 

La/le candidat dispose ensuite d'un mois supplémentaire pour intégrer les éventuelles corrections à son travail avant sa remise finale.

La réussite du travail écrit octroie 5 ECTS.

Titre délivré

Certificate of Advanced Studies en Recherche de provenance de l'Université de Neuchâtel (13 ECTS)

Frais d'inscription pour l'ensemble de la formation

CHF 6080.-*

*Soit: CHF 2800.- par module + CHF 480.- pour le suivi et la soutenance du travail final

Payable dès réception de la confirmation de la tenue du cours.
Possibilité de paiement en plusieurs tranches sur demande.

Prochaine session

Module I – Contextes coloniaux

INSCRIPTIONS CLOSES

Prix: CHF 2800.-

Télécharger le flyer

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

Renseignements

Caroline Ferrazzo, M.A.

Collaboratrice scientifique

caroline.ferrazzo@unine.ch

+ 41 79 387 30 40

Dates 2024

Module I

26, 27 janvier // 2, 3, 23, 24 février // 1, 2 mars

Module II

30, 31 août // 6, 7, 20, 21, 27, 28 septembre

Horaire

Dès 08h45 Accueil
09h15 - 12h30 Session
12h30 - 14h00 Pause repas
14h00 - 17h15 Session

Direction du cours

Dr. Claire Brizon, Dr. Carolin Lange, Dr. Thomas Schmutz

Lieu

Université de Neuchâtel, Suisse

Langues d'enseignement

Français et anglais

Format hybride

Présentiel à l'Université de Neuchâtel & diffusion simultanée en visio-conférence

Prix de l'ensemble de la formation

CHF 6080.-*

(*Module I + Module II + suivi et soutenance du travail final)

bottom of page